So When Will French Cardinal Paul Poupard Turn 80?

by Anura Guruge

Yes, that he was born on August 30, 1930, in Bouzillé, in NW France is known. I can’t, alas, find the time that he was born. If you do know it PLEASE let me know.

That Cardinal Poupard’s 80th birthday will create another cardinal elector vacancy, with the cardinal electors down to 106, is also fairly well known. I for one documented this on July 7, 2010 and on July 31, 2010.

But, when exactly is it appropriate, if not proper, to say that he turned 80 and as such update the College of Cardinal statistics?

There are many of us that maintain and publish detailed lists pertaining to the latest composition of the College and the implications as to the next cardinal creating consistory.

Given the volume of statistics I provide, I now have no choice but to start updating my tables a few days ahead of cardinals turning 80. So today, August 28, two days ahead of Cardinal Poupard’s birthday, I will start updating my tables. I even changed my master CARDINALS Excel spread-sheet so that it has a ‘date offset’ field. If I set this offset to ‘+2,’ I can see the statistics for August 30, 2010, as opposed to August 28, 2010 — always, of course, assuming that the number of cardinals have not changed.

So this brings up an issue that I addressed over two years ago. When exactly does a cardinal turn 80? Here is the << link >> to my original July 2008 post.

Is it appropriate for ME to post the updated statistics, showing the latest number of cardinal electors, as soon as August 30, 2010 pops up at the International Date Line. That is 17 hours ahead of where I sit, on the Eastern seaboard of the US.

That would mean, assuming I haven’t got my numbers wrong or miscalculated daylight saving time, that I could probably post the revised numbers at around 7:01 am, US Eastern time, on Sunday, August 29, 2010.

But that seems wrong.

I think the cardinal lives in Rome. But since France and Rome are in the same timezone, in this instance, it doesn’t really matter whether I use Rome time or the time in his land of birth. [I wish I knew exactly when he was born.]

Rome and France are 6 hours ahead of me. So at 6:01 pm, on Sunday, August 29, 2010 — it will be Monday, August 30, 2010 in Rome and all of France. I could go with that. Since this blog, as well as popes and papacy, has many international visitors, many that visit while I am still asleep, maybe I should update per Rome time.

In the end, this is NOT a big deal. Just an intellectual curiosity for me.

Let me know if you have comments.

3 thoughts on “So When Will French Cardinal Paul Poupard Turn 80?”

  1. I can’t imagine dedicating my time and attention to a task like this, however, given that I occasionally wonder about how things stand in the college and who the frontrunner papabili might be, it’s good to know that you find this work fulfilling and you’re putting your info on line.

Comments are closed.