Why Are People Doing ‘This Search’ On Cardinal Edward Michael Egan Who Turned 80 Today?

Anura Guruge, laughing, picture November 16, 2011.

….
by Anura Guruge

Given that I have been doing this for awhile, I tend to know what people will be looking for, in terms of Web searches, at certain times. Obviously whenever a cardinal retires, turns 80 or dies there is a predictable spike in the searches pertaining to that cardinal.

Edward Michael Egan turned 80 today and ceased to be an elector. Thus, it was to be expected that there will be folks looking him up today. Based on the early morning hits I received I was surprised by two things: there wasn’t as many hits as I normally see for a cardinal and I have never seen a search term even close to this applied to a cardinal!

Click image to access Google search for this phrase.

It cracked me up. I was even more amazed to see how many entries popped up for that search phrase. Not even sure why I got any hits, I didn’t see this Web site on the first two pages. I did see this article, though.

